Negahonetegrity I want YOUR OPINIONS!

This is a bit of a rant. So feel free to skip the inside and just comment with your answers.

1. Do you guys think I am negative, do you think I should be “more positive”?

2. Do you guys appreciate my honesty and showing both sides of the coin?

3.What would you guys like to see more of/less of in my blog?

4. Even though its a bet I’ll probably lose what should I make the “bet for anything” with Stu be?

5. Would my readers (you guys) care if I did not get a preview? I want one and it’d be cool and all and I would totally give a awesome hypefest for the card including potential combos, interactions and so forth.

6. If one thing could be added to my site what would it be that you want?

7.Ninjas or Pirates?

Thanks to everyone whos been reading this blog so far and I hope you guys keep reading it.

I am sorry to tell you this, but you will never get a preview if you insist on trashing cards and being negative in your reviews.

That’s just how it works. Your “cons” about each card are the exact thing they don’t want. When we write about preview cards, we are trying to promote them, not tell people why they suck.

Your efforts are appreciated, but you can’t have a preview if you must talk about how bad things are.

This is all my thinking, and they may decide differently. But I would bet anything that they won’t give you a preview. And, if they do, they will tell you specifically to refrain from the negativity.

Rian

Pros:

  • PM
  • Semi Polite
  • Gave me a chuckle
  • Gave me a challenge

Cons:

  • Made me rethink my priorities
  • My negativity towards cards except maybe for Registration Act have been minimal whining such as: Card will be hard to get due to rareness, Tunr 8 will be hard to get to due to AWESOMENESS.

So I state here once and for all.


I enjoy playing VS.

I enjoy posting about VS.

i want a preview.

I will be honest. Occasionally I may even post something negative.

I wanna build a Hulk deck already

I am a browncoat for life

My preview reviews will not change to be more positive.

I believe UDE is above using previews as a cookie and will grant previews and HOTM on content quality.

My favourite format will always be golden age.
To Stu.

Any publicity is good publicity. I hope they come here and appreciate my honesty. Previews a cherry on top but not something I will be changing how I do my blog for. I’m not sure what the ANYTHING is yet but you’re on! Don’t take this as hostility or anything towards you. You do your thing. I do mine. I have almost 2000 pageviews of my blog ( that arent me!) at this point and I am estastic.

Thanks to everyone whos been reading this blog so far and keep reading it.

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    LiFeMaGe Says:

    1. No, not really. In all honesty, the cons aren’t nearly as harsh as others may say. For example, the worst was like how HULK SMASH might make the 8 drop unnecessary, but it might serve a purpose in another deck with unspoiled cards. I’ll leave it at that

    2. Yes, honesty is a good thing

    3. Less pictures of your cat; More of the Hoff (and VS decks/ reports ala your current Hulk tourny).

    4. I think that’s one of the most least productive things you’ve done/will do since I’ve known you.

    5. Not really no. I could care less from where the preview came as long as it came before the set was spoiled/released, though it would benefit you so in that case yes, I hope you get one.

    6. No comment, but knowing me you might see where this is going

    7. Ninjas…no contest

  2. Talk about a chuckle…

    I get a “Pro” for trying to help in a PRIVATE message, and then you make it public?

    Does that make this whole post a “Con”?

    Funny stuff, please continue. Don’t worry, I won’t try to help anymore.

  3. 3
    Pheonix Wright Says:

    1) “Are you too negative?”

    No. I enjoy the Pro/Con analysis – it’s pretty much the whole reason I visit this site.

    I wouldn’t take Stu too seriously on things like this – he means well, and seems like a genuinely nice guy, but he really takes the “only positive” philosophy much too far online in my, and many others, opinion, and actually creates alot of negativity in doing so.

    2) “Do you guys appreciate my honesty and showing both sides of the coin?”

    Yes.

    Now don’t get me wrong, back during the whole “panic era” when the game went into decline it was uncertain whether or not it would find solid footing again, I was much more annoyed by the “Doomsayers” than the “Unicorn and Rainbows” crowd, but to be honest they both tended to be a bit overbearing and emotional rather than calm, polite, and rational – so although I understand that Rian’s attitude is largely an artifact of that time-period, and I sympathize with his position during it, now-a-days his constant objections seem a burden.

    It might also be supported by his career as an art teacher. Often, an art teacher, at least of children (which I believe he is), there is a need for a philosophy that discourages criticism and encourages free expression. Now, trying to bring this line of thought over into the more rational, darwinian “adult” realm is where problems can occur. His “positivist” viewpoint has its place, but its not here – here your objective criticism is appreciated.

    Criticism of anyone else who produces criticism, even well thought out, polite, balanced, and objective criticism, besides being somewhat hypocritical, is quite annoying at times.

    Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy his blog as well and appreciate what he does do for the community, but I’m simply stating that I feel that this is one criticism that you can comfortably shrug off.

    I would continue with the Pro/Con analysis – honestly, it’s the biggest draw your site has, in my opinion … since you have yet to get a preview of your own, which you rightly deserve P).

    3) “What would you guys like to see more of/less of in my blog?”

    Fewer Christmas visual-thematics?

    4) “Even though its a bet I’ll probably lose what should I make the “bet for anything” with Stu be?”

    Not exactly sure what you’re talking about here, but I’d keep it something playful to help keep attitudes light.

    5) “Would my readers (you guys) care if I did not get a preview? I want one and it’d be cool and all and I would totally give a awesome hypefest for the card including potential combos, interactions and so forth.”

    You really, really should get a preview. I would enjoy that.

    6) “If one thing could be added to my site what would it be that you want?”

    Not sure, but if I have to think of something right now … a big picture of Alfred Russell Wallace that’s been photo-shopped in some amusing way.

    7) “Ninjas or Pirates?”

    I’m not sure, I’d have to go open the box to find out.

  4. 4
    Walter Kovacs Says:

    One thing to note … I’m pretty sure that most of the previews have already been given out, or at least, the people that would be getting previewed have been contacted. Unfortunately, while your preview review stuff and constant updates have been awesome, it may be a “too late” issue in terms of getting a preview … for MUN. There is a chance you could get a preview for DCU … but that would be a long way down the road [and if there is an intermediate set, you might get a chance to preview a card for that].

    There is also a chance that you get some props in the Hero of the Month column.

    However, there is a chance the “MUN Preview” boat has sailed. I just don’t want you to think that your recent efforts are ignored by UDE … it’s just that, unfortunately, it occured after they had already decided who would get preview cards.

  5. 5
    septemberlily Says:

    NO MORE CHRISTMAS TREES/COLOURS.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

